To Secretaries District Licensing Committees

ALCOHOL REGULATORY AND LICENSING AUTHORITY TE MANA WAETURE TAKE WAIPIRO

PRACTICE DIRECTION PURSUANT TO s 172 OF THE ACT

NUMBERING OF DISTRICT LICENSING COMMITTEES - LICENCES AND MANAGER CERTIFICATES

Direction

1. The Authority has established a numbering protocol identifying each DLC and for the numbering of licenses and manager's certificates issued by each DLC.

District Licensing Committees

- 2. The referencing practice implemented in 2012 by the Authority has continued.
- 3 As each decision making DLC needs to be readily identifiable it is desirable that the current referencing codes remain in force. The code numbers currently in force are appended to this direction.
- 4 Where more than one committee is formed by a TLA the code number is to be suffixed by a letter commencing with the letter A: e.g. were the Wellington City Council to form two DLCs the committee numbers would be 49A and 49

Licences

5. The Authority requires that the following sequence of numbers and letters be used: DLC number/Type of licence/Number/Year: e.g. for an on-licence issued by the Wellington DLC the licence number would be written as **49/ON/001/2024**.

Managers' Certificates

- 6. The Authority requires the following sequence of numbers and letters to be used: DLC Number/CERT/Number/Year: e.g. for the Wellington DLC the certificate number would be written as **49/CERT/001/2024.**
- 7. The certificate number allocated by a DLC is to be retained over the life of a certificate even if the certificate holder renews the certificate with a different DLC. The original DLC committee number needs to included in the body of all future notices of renewal of the certificate in addition to any other reference number that may be used by that particular DLC. This will enable the full management history

of the holder of the certificate to be ascertained in the event of the holder changing districts

DATED at Wellington this 8th day of April 2024

District Court Judge PR Connell Chairperson Alcohol Regulatory and Licensing Authority

Attachment – ATCH1A

Identification codes for territorial authorities

01 Far North 02 Whangarei 03 Kaipara 07 Auckland 11 Thames-Coromandel 12 Hauraki 13 Matamata-Piako 14 Waikato 15 Hamilton 16 Waipa 17 South Waikato 18 Otorohanga 19 Waitomo 20 Taupo 21 Tauranga 22 Western Bay of Plenty 23 Rotorua 24 Kawerau 25 Whakatane 26 Opotiki 27 Gisborne 28 Wairoa 29 Hastings 30 Napier **31 Central Hawkes Bay** 32 Ruapehu 33 New Plymouth 34 Stratford 35 South Taranaki 36 Whanganui 37 Rangitikei 38 Manawatu **39** Palmerston North 40 Horowhenua

41 Tararua 42 Masterton 43 Carterton 44 South Wairarapa 45 Kapiti Coast 46 Porirua 47 Upper Hutt 48 Hutt City 49 Wellington 50 Nelson 51 Tasman 52 Marlborough 53 Kaikoura 54 Buller 55 Grev 56 Westland 57 Hurunui 58 Waimakariri 59 Selwvn 60 Christchurch 62 Ashburton 63 Mackenzie 64 Timaru 65 Waimate 66 Waitaki 67 Central Otago 68 Queenstown 69 Dunedin 70 Clutha 71 Gore 72 Southland 73 Invercargill City 74 Chatham Island