This Directory of Official Information is not the current version

This is an archived version.

To view the current version please visit Directory of Official Information - December 2013.


Te Puni Kōkiri

Ministry of Māori Development


In general, the principles and policies of the law are set out in Acts of Parliament. Matters of detail or implementation or matters likely to require frequent changes are usually contained in Regulations. The authority to make Regulations is contained in the relevant Act of Parliament. Regulations require Cabinet approval only and are promulgated by the Governor-General. Unlike Acts, they do not go through the parliamentary process.

As well as complying with general legislation under which Te Puni Kōkiri and other government agencies are required to conduct their affairs, Te Puni Kōkiri and therefore the Minister of Māori Affairs, is responsible for administering the following 29 Acts of Parliament. This administrative role includes responsibility for: monitoring compliance, reviewing the legislation, and enacting any required amendments.


  • Broadcasting Act 1989, Part IVA.
  • Hauraki Māori Trust Board Act 1988;
  • Lake Waikaremoana Act 1971;
  • Maniapoto Māori Trust Board Act 1988;
  • Maniapoto Māori Trust Board Amendment Act 2008;
  • Māori Affairs Restructuring Act 1989;
  • Māori Community Development Act 1962;
  • Māori Housing Act 1935;
  • Māori Land Amendment and Māori Land Claims Adjustment Act 1926;
  • Māori Language Act 1987;
  • Māori Purposes ( Wi Pere Trust ) Act 1994;
  • Māori Purposes Act 1926-1981;
  • Māori Purposes Act 1991;
  • Māori Purposes Act 1993;
  • Māori Purposes Fund Act 1934-1935;
  • Māori Reserved Land Act 1955;
  • Māori Soldiers Trust Act 1957;
  • Māori Television Service (Te Aratuku Whakaata Irirangi Māori ) Act 2003
  • Māori Trust Boards Act 1955;
  • Māori Trust Boards Amendment Act 2008
  • Māori Trustee Act 1953;
  • Māori Vested Land Administration Act 1954;
  • Mauao Historic Reserve Vesting Act 2008
  • Ministry of Māori Development Act 1991;
  • Orakei Act 1991;
  • Tarawera Forest Act 1967;
  • Tauranga Moana Trust Board Act 1981;
  • Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Porou Act 1987;
  • Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Whātua Act 1988;
  • Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993;
  • Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975;
  • Whanganui River Trust Board Act 1988;


  • Māori Assembled Owners Regulations 1995
  • Māori Community Development Regulations 1963
  • Māori Housing Regulations 1960
  • Māori Incorporations Constitution Regulations 1994
  • Māori Occupation Orders Regulations 1994
  • Māori Purposes Fund Regulations 1937
  • Māori Reservation Regulations 1994
  • Māori Reserved Land Amendment Act Schedule 3 Order 1998
  • Māori Trust Board Regulations 1985
  • Māori Trustee Regulations 2009
  • Taranaki Māori Trust Board Order 2009
  • Mawhera Incorporation Order 1976
  • Parininihi ki Waitotara Incorporation Order 1976
  • Te Rūnanga o Ngai Tahu (Declaration of Membership) Order 2001
  • Whakatū Incorporation Order 1977

Te Puni Kōkiri’s statutory roles and responsibilities are prescribed by the Ministry of Māori Development Act 1991 and have been further developed by Cabinet. The roles and responsibilities describe how Te Puni Kōkiri will do its job in achieving the Government’s objectives for Māori.


Te Puni Kōkiri was created by the Ministry of Māori Development Act 1991 with a sharpened focus on education, training and employment, health and economic resource development.  Our principal duties under the Act are to promote increases in Māori achievement across these key social and economic areas, and linked to this, to monitor and liaise with each department or agency that provides, or has a responsibility to provide, services to or for Māori for the purpose of ensuring the adequacy of those services.  One of the significant challenges we face is striking the right balance between leading and influencing public policy, and assuming a monitoring role akin to a central agency.

To achieve our purposes we focus predominantly on;

  • Leading and influencing government policy as it pertains to Māori;
  • Assisting the government to manage its relationships with Māori; and
  • Partnering and facilitating Māori, government and private sector initiative.

Our main function is as an integrated policy ministry, with the full breadth of policy functions including research, policy development, community level investment, evaluation and monitoring.  Coupled with this, we have an extensive knowledge and understanding of Māori communities, and a strong regional presence.  Together, our broad functions, and our regional infrastructure provide us with unique abilities to anchor policy advice in the realities of Māori communities, and to manage the Crown-Māori relationship on behalf of government.

Within this context, our core Role is Principal adviser on Crown-Māori relationships.  In discharging this role, our key interest is to ensure that Government decision making and processes are informed by Treaty considerations, and are reflective of the aims, aspirations and realities of Māori communities.  We are superbly equipped by our regional network and by our character as a consciously Māori organisation – a place in the government where Māori may feel at home. 


Organisational Information and Key People

 Te Puni Kokiri Organisational Chart
Leith Comer, Chief Executive
Leith Comer has been the Chief Executive, Te Manahautū, of Te Puni Kōkiri since February 2001.

In The Office of the Chief Executive (OCE) support is provided to the Chief Executive and his leadership team to enable them to perform their roles and functions efficiently and effectively.

An important function of OCE is to build, strengthen and maintain relationships with stakeholders.

Kim Ngarimu, Deputy Secretary Policy
The Policy Wāhanga is responsible for leading the core policy advice function, for managing the inputs of information and knowledge, critical analysis, monitoring and evaluation, and the quality assurance structures and processes that ensure the timeliness, relevance, efficiency, effectiveness, and originality of policy output. The policy group relies on an integrated approach to this core function, both within the group itself, and from the complementary divisions of Relationships and Information and from Support Services.

Alison Thom, Deputy Secretary Relationships and Information
The Relationships and Information Wāhanga maintains a strong network of 10 regional offices that provides for close and interactive connections with Māori, in all their diversity. This proximity allows Te Puni Kōkiri to develop significant knowledge of the dynamics of different groups and their interests, and to ensure that its policy advice is well informed by the local realities of these groups. It also ensures that Te Puni Kōkiri is able to carry out its leadership function of advising on relationships between the Crown, iwi, hapū, whānau, and Māori.

Craig Owen, Deputy Secretary Support Services
The Support Services Wāhanga is responsible for the provision of high quality management support services that enable all parts of Te Puni Kōkiri to operate in an effective and efficient manner. Support Services is responsible for the following corporate functions:

  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • Information Services
  • Legal Services
  • Ministerial and Contract Servicing
  • Risk Management and Internal Audit
  • Communications


Te Puni Kōkiri holds the records previously administered by the Iwi Transition and Manatu Māori as well as the new records created since Te Puni Kōkiri was established. The Library also collects information on issues of specific and general relevance to Māori.


Te Puni Kōkiri has developed manuals for internal office use.


Head Office
Te Puni Kōkiri House
143 Lambton Quay  


PO Box 3943

Phone: (04) 819 6000
Fax: (04) 819 6299