Archived publications

You are currently in the publications archive, and may not be accessing the most up to date information. The more recent publications can be found in the publications A - Z.



I want to express my gratitude and acknowledge the many people who have supported me and provided valuable input and advice to the project. I am indebted to you and hope I have been able to adequately reflect your contributions in my final report. This project has been a fascinating and rewarding journey for me and I am hopeful it will provide a pathway ahead for both Māori and non-Māori in the pursuit of improving safety, both in the home and the community. In particular, I would like to thank those who are pioneering a new partnership between Government services and Māori, and making a significant contribution to the types of projects outlined in this report.

Members of the Police Māori Focus Forum:

Mr Tui Adams
Rev Maurice Gray
Ms Wendy Heath-King
Mr Apirana Mahuika
Mrs June Mariu
Mr Pona Matenga
Mr Mita Mohi
Mr Kara Puketapu
Mr Pita Sharples
Mr Toko Te Kani

Mr Andy Sarich Te Whare Kauri

The Project Steering Committee:

Mark Prebble, Chief Executive, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Nāgtata Love, Chief Executive, Te Puni Kōkiri
Rob Robinson, Commissioner of Police
Colin Keating, Chief Executive, Ministry of Justice
Bronwyn Somerville, Director, Crime Prevention Unit

The growing Police Iwi Liaison team, especially:

Superintendent Pieri Munro
Senior Constable Paddy Whiu
Superintendent Clint Rickards
Senior Constable Wayne Panapa
Sergeant Tania Eden
Senior Constable Ricky Tuterangiwhiu
Mr Matu Te Pou
Sergeant Wally Haumaha

The Police Youth at Risk Project Leaders, teams and volunteers at:

Mt Roskill Police Community Approach Project
Turn Your Life Around Project, Avondale
Operation New Direction, Dunedin
Te Taurikura, Kaikohe
Mangere Youth At Risk Project
Taiohi Toa Project, East Hamilton
Tmatanga Hou, Gisborne
Project Pegasus, New Brighton
Glen Innes Police Community Approach
Te Aranui, Tauranga
J Team, Wainuiomata
One to One, Nelson
Rangiora Waimakariri Community Youth Worker Project

The staff and volunteers of:

Tracker Programme, Kaitaia
He Tohu Rangatira, Kaikohe
Te Arawa Journey, Rotorua
Ngā Moemoeā a Te Rangatahi, Auckland
and Pam Oliver, who evaluated these projects.

The staff and volunteers at Te Whānau Āwhina, Hoani Waititi Marae, Waitakere

The Police staff in the Commissioner's Office who support the project centrally:

Superintendent Gavin McFadyen
Mrs Tessa Watson
Inspector John van der Heyden

Bronwyn Somerville, Director of the Crime Prevention Unit and her team

Mark Byers, Chief Executive of the Department of Corrections and his Executive Team

Donna Hall, Ngāti Rangiteaorere o Mokoia Island

The many officials from:

Te Puni Kōkiri
Ministry of Justice
Ministry of Social Policy
Department of Child, Youth and Family Services
Ministry of Youth Affairs

Gabrielle Maxwell of Victoria University

Kim Workman of Kim Workman and Associates Limited

Nō reira ē rau rangatira mā,

Ē kore ē taea te kupu I āku nei mihi nui ki a koutou

Nā te Atua koutou ē manaaki

I ngā wā katoa.

Nāku iti nei, nā

Peter Doone