Selection Committee

Six Selection Committees have been established by the Secretary for Justice. The five current regional committees (Northern, East Coast-Waikato, Taranaki-Whanganui-Manawatū, Central and Southern) provide national coverage and the sixth committee specialises in Waitangi Tribunal, Māori Land Court and Māori Appellate Court providers.

List of Selection Committee chairs and members [PDF, 316 KB]

Referral to the Selection Committee

All applications for lead provider approval will be referred to the relevant Selection Committee for their consideration and recommendation to the Secretary.

An application for supervised provider approval may be referred to a Selection Committee for consideration if there are concerns about the applicants proposed supervision arrangements.

For example:

  • a supervised provider application may require Selection Committee input if the supervised provider and the lead provider are not located in the same area or
  • if the lead provider already supervises a number of supervised providers.

This page was last updated: