Regulatory systems and areas

The breadth and depth of our involvement in key areas within Aotearoa New Zealand’s democracy is reflected in the number of pieces of legislation and regulatory systems we’re responsible for. We administer 154 pieces of legislation and have regulatory stewardship responsibilities for 52 regulatory systems.

Due to the Ministry’s large regulatory stock, we’ve organised our regulatory systems into regulatory areas. Many of these regulatory systems and areas overlap.

Our 7 regulatory areas are: