About the Authority

The Social Security Appeal Authority has 4 members appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister of Social Development, after consultation with the Minister of Justice.

It conducts monthly hearings alternating between Auckland and Wellington and occasionally in Christchurch.

Ministry of Justice staff from the Tribunals Unit assist with the registration and case management of appeals.

Relevant legislation

Social Security Act 2018(external link)

Social Security Act 1964 (external link)

War Pensions Act 1954(external link)

Social Welfare (Transitional Provisions) Act 1990(external link)

New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001(external link)

Family Benefits (Home Ownership) Act 1964 No 32(external link)

This page was last updated: