About the Tribunal

The Tribunal is made up of a chairperson appointed by the Governor-General and 2 members who must be a District Court Judge or a barrister or solicitor of the High Court with at least 7 years' experience. The chairperson can choose a member of the Australian Tribunal to sit at the hearing.


The Tribunal was set up under the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997(external link) 

File and Pay

File and Pay provides an online alternative to filing documents and paying fees in person at a courthouse or by post.

Courts that can usually accept electronic document filing and payment through File and Pay are the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and the High Court as well as the following Tribunals:

  • Copyright Tribunal
  • Immigration & Protection Tribunal
  • Legal Complaints Review Officer
  • Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal
  • Real Estate Disciplinary Tribunal
  • Taxation Review Authority
  • Trans-Tasman Occupations Tribunal
  • Weathertight Homes Tribunal
  • Lawyers and Conveyancers Disciplinary Tribunal

This page was last updated: