Who we work with


The Ministry works with 5 Ministers across the following portfolios:

Hon Andrew Little

  • Minister of Justice
  • Minister for Courts
  • Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations

Hon Aupito Su’a William Sio

  • Associate Minister of Justice and Associate Minister for Courts

Hon Kelvin Davis

  • Minister for Crown/Maori Relations

Hon Meka Whaitiri

  • Associate Minister for Crown/Maori Relations

Jan Logie

  • Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Justice (Domestic and Sexual Violence Issues)


We support the judiciary by providing administrative, technology and HR support, as well as training and development. The ministry gets judicial input into its operations, for example, on improvements to court processes and service design.

In delivering justice services, we recognise the importance of the constitutional independence of judicial decision making, and work with the judiciary to ensure this independence is preserved and maintained.

Justice sector agencies & others

We lead the justice sector, which is made up of the Ministry of Justice, New Zealand Police, the Department of Corrections, the Crown Law Office, the Serious Fraud Office.

The justice sector agencies work together to reduce crime and reoffending. By aligning our services, we can see where one part of the ‘criminal justice pipeline’ affects another and can make changes to help the sector as a whole.

We also work with many other agencies including government departments, Crown entities, local government, community groups and other agencies and organisations.

Find out more about:

This page was last updated: