Our leaders

We have more than 3000 people who work in 120 locations around the country delivering justice services.

Find out more about our values

The Ministry of Justice’s Strategic Leadership Team is led by Andrew Kibblewhite, Secretary for Justice and Chief Executive. They set the Ministry’s strategic direction including initiatives to help modernise our services.

The team plays an important role in developing and maintaining relationships, particularly with the judiciary, Ministers, other justice sector agencies, central agencies, professional bodies and other organisations.

Strategic Leadership Team Board

Picture of Andrew Kibblewhite

Andrew Kibblewhite, Secretary for Justice & Chief Executive

Andrew Kibblewhite has been Secretary since February 2019. Prior to this, he was Chief Executive of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (DPMC) for seven years. Andrew’s previous experience in the public service includes roles as Deputy Chief Executive at Treasury, Director of the Policy Advisory Group at the DPMC, and General Manager Strategic Development at the Ministry of Research, Science and Technology. Andrew began his career at the Treasury and has a BSc (Hons) from the University of Canterbury, a BCA from Victoria University, and an MBA (Arjay Millar Scholar) from Stanford University.

Carl Crafar, Chief Operating Officer, Operations & Service Delivery

Carl joined the Ministry in August 2016 to lead the Ministry’s newly created Operations and Service Delivery Group. This brings all our operations together providing one operational view of our service delivery and customer outcomes. Carl has a long involvement with the social sector, and has held a number of senior roles in the Ministry of Social Development. He was responsible for national service delivery, most recently as Deputy Chief Executive, Social Housing, leading MSD's social housing operations.  

Rajesh Chhana, Deputy Secretary, Policy

Rajesh took up the position of Deputy Secretary Policy in early 2015. He has more than a decade’s experience at the Ministry, dating back to 1996 when he joined as a legal advisor in the Legal Service Group. He has held a variety of senior advisory and management roles in both the public and private sectors, including here at the Ministry as General Manager of Crime Prevention Criminal Justice (now Criminal Justice). Before taking up the role of Deputy Secretary Policy, Rajesh was Director of National Security Policy at the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Tina Wakefield

Tina Wakefield, Deputy Secretary, Corporate and Digital Services

Tina joined the Ministry in late 2014 as Chief Information Officer. She was previously the General Manager of Government Information Services at the Department of Internal Affairs, where she led development of the All-Of-Government online strategy, standards and associated services. Other roles include leadership of the Government ICT Supply Management Office and she was also responsible for IT service management and assurance, security and risk. Before joining the public sector, Tina held senior roles at Telecom.

Anouk Alexander

Anouk Alexander, Deputy Secretary, Strategy, Governance and Finance

Anouk took up the position of Deputy Secretary Strategy, Governance and Finance in September 2019. She was previously the General Manager Strategy at New Zealand Trade and Enterprise and Deputy Chief Executive, Organisational Governance at the Ministry of Social Development. Anouk also worked over eight years as a management consultant with PwC where she worked with a variety of clients in New Zealand and overseas where she was responsible for the Strategy consultants.

Victoria McLaughlin, Deputy Secretary, Te Au Reka

Victoria McLaughlin has worked in the Ministry of Justice since 2017, originally as the Director, Strategy Development, developing the roadmap for 'modernising' courts and tribunals, which established the case for investing in Te Au Reka. In 2019, Victoria became the Group Manager, Commissioning and Service Improvement. The Commissioning and Service Improvement Group design and implement changes in the courts and tribunals. It also manages the commissioning and management of community services that support the courts and access to justice. Throughout her time as the Group Manager Victoria was responsible for the establishment of Te Au Reka, including securing investment. In July 2022, Victoria became the Deputy Secretary – Te Au Reka.  Prior to working in the Ministry of Justice, Victoria was a Partner in the advisory practice of EY. During this time, she led a number of engagements supporting the Ministry of Justice, Police and Corrections.

Marcus Akuhata-Brown

Marcus Akuhata-Brown, Pou Whakatere - Deputy Secretary, Māori

Marcus Akuhata-Brown (Ngāti Porou, Te Aitanga a Mahaki, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāi Tahu) joined Te Tāhū o te Ture on 3 November 2020. A qualified teacher, in his early career Marcus led a number of innovative alternative education programmes addressing the learning needs of at-risk youth and young offenders. Marcus brings his deep and broad connections with Iwi Māori, along with his drive to help strengthen our Ministry’s relationships through our engagement and partnership mahi.

This page was last updated: