Joint Venture adopts new name, Te Puna Aonui

The Joint Venture Business Unit (JVBU) has today adopted its new name, Te Puna Aonui. Te Puna Aonui is focused on ways to strengthen families, whānau and communities through whole-of-government work, in partnership with tangata whenua, specialists and communities.

The new name formalises the way government agencies work together to deal with complex issues that sit across a wide range of areas and responsibilities. These types of complex issues cannot be solved by one single agency.

The new name for the JVBU is the next step in delivering Te Aorerekura– the National Strategy for the Elimination of Family Violence and Sexual Violence(external link). Te Aorerekura will see that all people in Aotearoa New Zealand can thrive and live their lives free from family violence and sexual violence.

The name was gifted to government by tangata whenua and draws on wānanga, including kōrero about light and māramatanga; a place of calm such as an oasis; a place of learning and reflection; and a repository of knowledge.

The new name also recognises the star, Aonui, which represents a path of enlightenment creating markers on the journey from te kore (darkness) ki te ao marama (into the light).

The Te Puna Aonui agencies include:

  • Ara Poutama Department of Corrections
  • Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga Ministry of Education
  • Manatū Hauora Ministry of Health
  • Te Tāhū o te Ture Ministry of Justice
  • Te Manatū Whakahiato Ora Ministry of Social Development
  • Ngā Pirihimana o Aotearoa New Zealand Police
  • Oranga Tamariki Ministry for Children
  • Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission
  • Te Puni Kokiri Ministry of Māori Development
  • ACC

Find out more about Te Puna Aonui on their new website at link)

← Back to the news

This page was last updated: