About the Tribunal

The Copyright Tribunal is made up of a chairperson and 5 members appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister of Commerce in consultation with the Minister of Justice.

The chairperson must be a barrister or solicitor of the High Court with at least 7 years' experience. The current chairperson is Wi Pere Mita.

  • Wi Pere Mita is a director of Laidlaw Law and Consultancy.  He is a lawyer and mediator with extensive experience in intellectual property and matauranga Maori.  With a background in arts, culture, media and entertainment, Wi Pere regularly supports clients to protect and commercialise their intellectual property interests in a manner that is consistent with Te Tiriti o Waitangi and tikanga practices. 
  • Paul Johns is a Principal and head of the litigation and commercial group at AJ Park, a leading provider of intellectual property services in Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific region.  Paul’s practice involves providing advice and representation to clients with legal disputes relating to registered intellectual property rights, copyright, and consumer and marketing law.  He has specialised in intellectual property law since 2001, including in roles at leading general commercial law firms in New Zealand and the United Kingdom.