Members of the Tribunal

The Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal is made up of a chairperson and up to 5 other members appointed by the Minister of Justice.

The chairperson must be a barrister or solicitor with at least 7 years’ legal experience. One member must be a licensed real estate agent. One of the members is also designated by the Minister as the deputy chairperson of the Authority.

David Plunkett (Chairperson)

David Plunkett was formerly a partner in a law firm and arbitrator in Hong Kong. In 1997, he was appointed a member of the Refugee Status Appeals Authority (now the Immigration and Protection Tribunal). Since 2003, he has been Deputy Chair or Chair of various tribunals.

Catherine Sandelin, LLB (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Sandelin graduated from Auckland University in 1987 with an LLB. She joined Rudd Watts and Stone as a solicitor before becoming a senior associate at Simpson Grierson. After tutoring the Auckland District Law Society's Legal Professionals training course, she practised as a Barrister sole specialising in commercial and property related disputes.

Garry Denley, JP, FREINZ

Mr Denley was made a Fellow of the REINZ in 1989 and in 1991 was appointed the REINZ’s Executive Officer for membership services, responsible for licensing, rules and membership services. He was an elected REINZ National Councillor from 1997 to 2007, chairing the Technology, Rules, Education and Agreements sub-committees during that time. He was also the REINZ representative on the Auckland District Law Society Forms sub-committee dealing with joint property agreements as a Councillor.

Neil O'Connor, AREINZ

Mr O'Connor currently owns and operates Property Management New Zealand that service the greater Auckland area. He also currently consults to Ray White, Pure Realty Ltd in Royal Oak assisting with recruiting, training and all AML Compliance. He entered real estate in 1986 and became an AREINZ in 1995. Throughout this time he has both owned and managed offices with up to 35 staff under several of the main franchise groups in New Zealand. Mr O'Connor is also the past Chair of the Papakura Business Assn and was on the Executive Committee for four years.

Fiona Mathieson, LLB, Notary Public, PG, DIP BUS, MBA

Ms Mathieson graduated from Auckland University with a LLB in 1983. She became a Notary Public in 1999 and is a member of the New Zealand Society of Notaries. She returned to Auckland University to complete a Graduate Diploma of Business (Admin) in 2003 and MBA in 2009. She is currently a partner at Boyle Mathieson and practices in the property / commercial area.